Sunday 2, April 2023

5 MPs of BNP submit resignation to Speaker

Time Digital Report: Five MP of Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) came to Parliament to submit their resignations.

Five MPs of BNP submitted their resignation letters at the National Parliament secretariat on Sunday morning around 11:00am, reports our correspondent.

They are Md Zahidur Rahman of Thakurgaon-3; Md Mosharof Hosen of Bogura-4; Gulam Mohammad Siraj of Bogura-6; Md Aminul Islam of Chapainawabganj-2 and Rumeen Farhana, lawmaker from a seat reserved for women.

The other two BNP lawmakers Md Harunur Rashid of Chapainawabganj-3, and Abdus Sattar Bhuiyan of Brahmanbaria-2 will submit their resignation in person later, BNP MP Siraj told.

Md Harunur Rashid is now abroad while Abdus Sattar Bhuiyan is ill. However, they have already emailed the Speaker their resignation letters, Rumeen Farhana told at the party's Dhaka rally yesterday.

"If you look at our 10-point demands, you will find the number one demand is that the parliament has to be dissolved," Rumeen Farhana said, talking to media around 10:30am.

So, if we don't resign, how it would be dissolved. This is just the beginning. Now all the democracy-loving political parties will follow suit, she added, also the party's international affairs secretary.

At yesterday's rally in the city's Golapbagh ground, the BNP announced the resignation of its MPs as per the party's standing committee decision.

"All seven lawmakers have emailed their resignation letters to the Speaker of the House. As parliament is closed today [yesterday], we will submit our resignations in person tomorrow [today]," Rumeen Farhana said at the rally.

The remaining period of the tenure of 11th national parliament is more than one year.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *