Sunday 2, April 2023

BNP MP Harunur Rashid submits resignation letter

Time Digital Report: BNP lawmaker Harunur Rashid (Chapainawabganj-3) submitted his resignation letter to Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury today.

On December 11, a day after BNP's Dhaka rally, five out of the seven BNP MPs submitted their resignations in person to the Speaker as part of their party's anti-government movement.

The MPs who resigned in person are Md Zahidur Rahman of Thakurgaon-3, Md Mosharof Hosen of Bogura-4, Gulam Mohammad Siraj of Bogura-6, Md Aminul Islam of Chapainawabganj-2, and Rumeen Farhana, from women's reserved seats.

Md Harunur Rashid was abroad at the time and Abdus Sattar Buiyan, the ailing MP of Brahmanbaria-2, could not tender their resignations in person, and did it through email.

Later, the Parliament Secretariat issued a gazette notification declaring the seats of six BNP MPs vacant.

The seat of Harunur Rashid, however, was not declared vacant as his resignation letter was not accepted.

The JS secretariat could not be sure whether the signature in Harun's resignation letter was by him.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *