Thursday 18, August 2022

EC starts talks with political parties today

News Desk: The Election Commission is scheduled for today to start talks with the registered political parties to decide its course of action for the next parliamentary elections.

The commission would continue the dialogue with the parties till July 31, commission officials said.

Main opposition Bangladesh Nationalist Party, however, already said that it would not join the talks.

The commission is scheduled for today to hold the talks with the Nationalist Democratic Movement, the Bangladesh Nationalist Front, the Bangladesh Congress and the Bangladesh Muslim League.

The Bangladesh Islamic Front, the Bangladesh Sangskritik Mukti Jote, the Khilafat Majlis and the Revolutionary Workers Party of Bangladesh have been invited to the dialogue on Monday.

The commission invited the Bangladesh Kalyan Party, the Islamic Oikya Jote, the Bangladesh Khelafat Majlis and the Bangladesher Samyabadi Dal to dialogues on July 19.

It is scheduled to hold dialogues with the Ganatantri Party and Bangladesh National Awami Party on July 20, the Bangladesh Tarikat Federation, the Bangladesh Jatiya Party, the Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal and the Gana Front on July 21, the Bangladesh Khilafat Andolan, the Jatiya Party-JP, the Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal and the Islamic Front Bangladesh on July 24 and the Bangladesh Muslim League, the Workers Party of Bangladesh, the Bangladesher Samajtantrik Dal and the Liberal Democratic Party on July 25.

The commission invited the Jamiat-e-Ulama-e-Islam Bangladesh, the Bikalpa Dhara Bangladesh, the Islami Andolan Bangladesh and the National People’s Party to the dialogues on July 26.

The Bangladesh Jatiya Party, the Zaker Party and the Krishak Sramik Janata League have been invited to the dialogue on July 27.

The commission is also scheduled to hold the dialogues with the Gana Forum, the Bangladesh National Awami Party and the Communist Party of Bangladesh on July 28 and the ruling Awami League, main opposition the Bangladesh Nationalist Party and the Jatiya Party on July 31.

Earlier, the commission had invited 39 political parties registered with its to talks on the use of electronic voting machines.

Of them, 28 political parties responded to the commission invitations and 11 parties, including the BNP, had rejected the invitation.

The president appointed Kazi Habibul Awal-led five-member Election Commission on February 26.

The new commission took office on February 28, the day after the appointment of the chief election commissioner and other election commissioners.

After taking charge of the electoral system of the country, the commission started dialogue with various stakeholders ahead of the 12th parliamentary elections.

BNP secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir told New Age that his party won’t join any discussion with anyone about the next polls till the ruling Awami League resigned.

According to respective parties, the CPB, the Islami Andolan Bangladesh and the Kalyan Party are yet to make any decision over joining in the talks. They had avoided the commission’s talks on the EVM.

The Revolutionary Workers Party decided to join the dialogue.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *