Friday 24, March 2023

National Film Award 2021

Time Entertainment Desk: The Ministry of Information today have announced the recipients of the National Film Awards 2021.

The National Film Award is considered to be one the most prestigious prizes given for films in Bangladesh. Every year, the government honours artistes in various categories, for their contributions towards the film industry.

Usually, the National Film Award is given in a total of 28 categories. However, this year 34 awards will be given in 27 categories. The 'Best Dance Director' category has been dropped due to a lack of eligible candidates.

The Ministry of Information and Broadcasting has announced the final list of the awardees. Let us have a look at them.

Dolly Zahur and Ilias Kanchan have been honoured with the 'Lifetime Achievement Award' for their contributions to the film industry.

Matia Banu Shuku's production, "Lal Moroger Jhuti" and Rezwan Shahriar Sumit's "Nonajoler Kabbo" have been jointly announced as winners in the 'Best Film' category.

The 'Best Director' prize will go to Rezwan Shahriar Sumit, for his debut film "Nonajoler Kabbo".

Siam Ahmed ("Mridha Bonam Mridha") and Mir Sabbir ("Raat Jaga Phool") will be jointly taking the 'Best Actor' award home.

Similarly, the 'Best Actress' award will also be jointly given to Azmeri Haque Badhan ("Rehana Maryam Noor"), and Tasnova Tamanna ("Nonajoler Kabbo").

While the 'Best Supporting Actor' award goes to Fazlur Rahman Babu, for his performance in "Nonajoler Kabbo"; Shampa Reza will receive the 'Best Supporting Actress' award for "Poddapuran". The 'Best Actor in a Negative Role' award will go to Joyraj for "Lal Moroger Jhuti".

Milon Bhattacharya will be given the 'Best Actor (Comedy)' for "Mridha Bonam Mridha".

"Rehana Maryam Noor" will take home another award, as Afia Tabassum earns herself the 'Best Child Artiste' for her performance in the film. Also, in this category, Jannatul Mawa will be given a special award for "Ja Hariye Jay".

Shujeo Shyam will receive the 'Best Music Director' award for "Joiboti Konnyar Mon". Muhin ("Shonate Eshechhi Aj") and Chandana Mazumdar ("Dekhle Chhobi Pagol Hobi") both from "Poddapuran" are to receive 'Best Singer' award in the male and female category.

The 'Best Lyricist' award has gone to Gazi Mazharul Anwar for "Ontore Ontor Jala" from "Joiboti Konnar Mon", while Shujeo Shyam will be given the 'Best Composer' award for the same song.

Rezwan Shahriar Sumit will also be recognised with the 'Best Script Writer' award for "Nonajoler Kabbo", while the 'Best Screenplay Writer' category will go to Nurul Alam Atique for "Lal Moroger Jhuti". Tauquir Ahmed writing for "Sphulingo" has helped him capture the 'Best Dialogue' award.

The 'Best Editing' award will go to Samir Ahmed ("Lal Moroger Jhuti"); 'Best Art Direction' to Shihab Nur Nabi ("Nonajoler Kabbo"); 'Best Cinematography' to the team of "Lal Moroger Jhuti" Syed Kashef Shahbazi, Sumon Sarker, and Mazharul Razu.

Sayba Talukder, from the team of "Rehana Maryam Noor" will be picking up the 'Best Sound Designer' award, while 'Best Costume Designer and Makeup' will be going to Edila Farid Turin ("Nonajoler Kabbo") and Md Farukh, Md Farhad, and Reza Milon ("Lal Moroger Jhuti").

"Dhar", produced by AKA Reza Ghalib, will be recognised as the 'Best Short Film', while the 'Best Documentary Film' award will go to "Boddhyo Bhumi", produced by Kauser Chowdhury.

On August 16, the Information and Broadcasting Ministry formed a 13-member jury board. In 2021, 21 full-fledged films, 17 short films and 7 documentary films totaling 45 films were submitted for the National Film Awards.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *