Sunday 4, June 2023

Tigers elect to bat in second ODI against Proteas

Bangladesh captain Tamim Iqbal has won the toss and elected to bat first against hosts South Africa during their second One Day International at Johannesburg on Sunday.

Bangladesh have selected an unchanged playing XI compare to the first ODI where they won by 35 runs.

Bangladesh are leading the series 1-0 having won the first game by 38 runs.

The tourists with the win broke their 20-year long wait to register first victory in a bilateral series in South Africa and have also now won ODIs in every country they have played in.

The gem of the performance from Bangladesh was produced though a team effort which they will need to recreate to grab the rare opportunity – of winning a series against South Africa at their backyard.

Bangladesh XI: 1 Tamim Iqbal (capt), 2 Litton Das, 3 Shakib Al Hasan, 4 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 5 Yasir Ali, 6 Mahmudullah, 7 Afif Hossain, 8 Mehidy Hasan, 9 Taskin Ahmed, 10 Shoriful Islam, 11 Mustafizur Rahman

South Africa XI: 1 Janneman Malan, 2 Quinton de Kock (wk), 3 Temba Bavuma (capt), 4 Kyle Verreynne, 5 Rassie van der Dussen, 6 David Miller, 7 Wayne Parnell, 8 Kagiso Rabada, 9 Keshav Maharaj, 10 Lungi Ngidi, 11 Tabraiz Shamsi.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *